At What Cost?

Over the years, I’ve heard survival-minded folk talk about SHTF, WROL, and TEOTWAWKI as though they were looking forward to such disasters. They can test out their cool gear, get to their bug out locations, and live out in real life the survival fantasies they’ve only read about in books.

Okay, maybe I’m being a little harsh, but no matter how well prepared any of us think we are, the reality of a SHTF scenario will absolutely be more than we can imagine and there are a multitude of variables that no one can anticipate.

I can’t ignore the ominous tone of headlines across the internet saying a “surprise” nuclear war, a World War 3, is a possibility. Admittedly, with the current leader of North Korea heading up a standing army of 1.1 million strong, with another 8.3 million in reserves, anything is likely.

Oh, yeah. Those pesky “failed” missile tests. No doubt some of them were actual failures, but what if the goal was only to see how far into the atmosphere the missile could reach? Armed with a nuclear warhead, that launched missile may have a chance of creating an electromagnetic pulse near, or over, the American homeland.

Obviously, I’ve been considering this possible scenario for a while and have determined the best course of action for my family and I is to prepare to maintain the best level of normalcy possible.

If my income is interrupted, I can prepare by saving money, paying off debt, learning additional skills that could generate income and teach my kids skills they can use to earn money.

My thought process here is to become as financially independent as possible on my average, middle class earnings. If war does come, I’m not going to count on the mortgage company telling me I can continue living in our house if I can’t make payments. Even if the dollar becomes devalued, I’d rather have $10,000 in savings than nothing at all.

If supply lines cause scarcity, we can prepare by continuing to stock up on food, medicine, and other hard goods, making sure your kids know how to cook from scratch, and keeping track of these measures so there’s no shortage of anything critical.

No one can stock up on multiples of every single item they might ever need, so I’ve been working on covering the basics and covering them very well. Every month we buy a little more food specifically for our food storage pantry. My wife looks for coupons and sales on non-food items, like OTC medications, household cleaners, paper plates, pretty much anything that would come in handy and has a good long shelf life.

It’s all too easy to mock Kim Jong-un — his haircut, portly build, somewhat vacant stare, but as I’ve taught my kids, someone with an IQ of 48 can kill you just as easily as someone with an IQ 3 times that. Kim Jong-un has managed to have his brother assassinated, has brutally cleansed his government of the tiniest sign of dissent, and seems fully in charge of an isolated country of some 25 million citizens.

I’m not going to minimize the impact of a World War 3 on our homeland.

The Whole Truth And Nothing But The Truth,

Jonathan Chambers

Leave a Reply

